Staff & Board

We have passionate people working behind the scenes every day to ensure that our vibrant and diverse arts community is supported!


Janna Smith
Executive Director
Janna Smith

Janna has twenty years experience working in nonprofit, government funded arts organizations, most recently in the roles of General Manager and Administrative Manager. Having worked closely with artists at Youtheatre in Montreal, she has a deep respect for the artistic process, and hopes to bring that appreciation and knowledge to her role at the Arts Council. Janna holds a Bachelor of Arts from McGill University and a Certificate in Management from Concordia University.

Board of Directors

Susan Holland

Curator, John M. Parrott Gallery

Past Chair
Susanne Barclay

Former Teacher and Consultant for the York Region Board in Language Arts and Drama

Vice Chair
Sarah Moran

Former President of Enterprise Advertising and Vice President of Strategic Services of J. Walter Thompson Canada

Walter Thompson

Retired Nuclear Engineer

Sarah Crawford

Former Vice President of public affairs for CTVglobemedia and CHUM Limited. Former Chair of the Media Awareness Network (now MediaSmarts); former Chair of the Canadian Association of Broadcasters (CAB)'s Subcommittee on the Presence, Portrayal and Participation of People with Disabilities in Television; and former Chair of the CAB's Societal Issues Committee

Directors at Large
Shirley Lewchuk

Past Director, Outreach and Communications, Faculty of Communication & Design, Ryerson University

Dale Smith

Over 30 years experience working in the design field; branding, broadcast, print, and web with a passion for typography and motion graphics

Dorian Widling

Visual Artist, Painter & Photographer with a Bachelor's Degree in English Literature from the Royal Military College of Canada

Andrea Piller

Award-winning Ceramist with degree from OCAD, whose work can be found at the Gardiner Museum, Canadian Clay & Glass Museum, Burlington Art Gallery, and more

Event/Program Chairs
Amy Shubert

Art in the County

Tara Wilkinson

Arts Trail

Gail Grossmith & Marianne Howard

County Collection

Anne Preston

County Kids Read

Dale Wainwright & Jennifer Bruce

PEC Studio Tour

Peta Hall

The Maker’s Hand

Search the site

Close icon

Subscribe to Artscene

Close icon